Coconut oil: The wonder treasure!

Until recently, I used coconut oil for hair massage and as a hair serum after a hairwash which was working fine for my hair. Lately my mother made me realise that I have been underestimating the moisturizing properties of this wonder oil. Coconut oil contains properties that feed and moisturize the skin. 

I live in Dehradun, a north Indian city which has moderate weather but summers are pretty hot here. For the last 6 months my skin had been breaking out like anything. I had pimples on my chin and cheek area that left me frustrated. I never had acne before so it really made me depressed as those pimples were painful and left red marks on my face. I tried many spot treatments but nothing worked for my skin. I followed the cleansing-toning-moisturizing regime religiously, but nothing seemed to help. There was time when I decided to give up on my acne troubles. I have an oily skin so I thought the hot indian summer and then humidity of the rainy season must be the reason behind my acne. My father who is a medical officer told me that my reoccurring pimples mightt be due to hormonal changes so I decided to let it be and stopped touching my face.

Recently I came to Lonavala to meet my parents. My mom pointed how my face looked pale and lifeless. Mom asked me to wash my face with lukewarm water and massage my face with coconut oil at night,daily.Since I had tried almost every possible measure so I decided to give it a try. To my surprise I could see a glow on my face just with 3 days of continuous usage of the oil. I was so Damn happy. As I said my skin is oily but coconut oil did not make it breakout. My pimples were reduced and those red marks seem to lighten now. It has been 2 weeks since I have been doing coconut oil massage on my face. Not only does it moisturize my face well but also smells great. It was kind of like a best kept secret that my mom shared with me and saved my skin.

Leave a Reply

